top of page

Oh Sleep! It is a Gentle Thing…

Today I woke up early and took my sweet niece, Leslie, and her girlfriend, Haley, to the airport to head back to Austin. Then I edited a chapter in a very fine novel of a writing student of mine. After that, I spent time on Facebook catching up with everyone’s news, and then looked over bills and the billing of my students before eating a little lunch.

At that point, I had one of those “I can’t do another thing” sort of melt-down moments (even though I wasn’t doing much), which signals that I am too tired and need to sleep. Instead of doing the usual and fighting that urge (and getting mean and hateful – Ray’s observation), I headed upstairs and watched the last episode of Project Runway I had missed, then scooted under the covers and went to sleep.

I fell into one of those deep sleeps and despite awaking for a moment to the barking of our dogs downstairs or the one time Ray came in and asked me to dig out a check I had in my purse since he was going to be the bank, I slept hard and long. I awoke at 5 pm – 3 hours later – and saw that it was already dark outside. I suspect I could have just stayed in bed and slept all night long. Instead, I got up, came downstairs and have been doing little tasks on my computer while also reading my emails I’ve ignored since going to Texas. Ray has gone upstairs and it’s quiet now at 7:18. I suspect he’s out for the night since he said as he headed up, “I feel so rundown.”

Ray and I are both so happy to have had this wonderful month of activity that culminated in a lovely Thanksgiving for 35 and a wedding for over 100, but I would say that we are ready for a rest now.

Today was a nice beginning.

My goal is to be in bed by 8 pm. Maybe that will temper the 6:00 a.m. alarm tomorrow morning, which will signal time to get up and go to volunteer at the St. Thomas the Apostle homeless breakfast. I am reserving the right not to go, but I suspect I’ll be up and out in the early a.m. Sometimes just being able to say, “Maybe I’ll miss,” makes going so much easier when the time comes.

On that note, I am headed up to take a bath. Blessed are the days of rest. They restoreth!

Hugs to all.


Sleep1
0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page