top of page

One Door Closes

Sue wasn’t happy when the letter came. It surely was the usual bs. Nonstop complaints from her former boss/friend, Jessica, who would not/could not leave her in peace. Of course, the whole situation was complicated by that mutual piece of property they owned. Why in hell had she ever thought that was a good idea? Everybody knows buying property together is bad even when it involves a husband and wife, and definitely in the case of a psycho-maniac like Jessica who had no boundaries of any kind.

Sue sank down on the leather couch in her apartment and reread the letter. As her eyes ran back over and over the line that was going to change her life – whether she liked it or not – she felt the heat rising in her body, making her break out into a sweat. The line, “I am ready to sell,” meant that they would be letting the rental condo they owned in common go at the depths of the market and would barely make enough to pay off the mortgage. That meant no more rent money from the woman who had lived there for the past five years; money that made a major difference in allowing Sue to eek through every month. So, once again, lovely Jessica, was arbitrarily pulling strings in Sue’s life, and Sue knew her well enough to dismiss instantly the possibility of talking any sense in her. Jessica prided herself on sticking to her plans, even if they took anybody unlucky enough to be associated with her straight down to the bottom of the river.

The depths, yep, this new chapter was going to be a challenge. Where was she going to move since as of five minutes ago she knew she could no longer live in the apartment she could barely afford, but still loved. She got up and walked over to the balcony, sliding back the glass door and stepping outside. The pink bougainvillea festooned the tall wall across the quiet street and a squirrel chattered at her from a nearby maple tree. Tears welled up in Sue’s eyes as she surveyed the familiar territory below: Mrs. Johnson walking Pepe, her bulldog; Mr. Ramirez watering his lawn; Tom Hendricks walking up the street, warming down from his daily run. He waved at her and she leaned over the railing and called, “Want a cup of coffee?”

Ten minutes later, Sue and Tom were sitting at her kitchen table and Sue was showing him the letter. Tom squinted at the printing and sighed, “How did someone as nice as you ever get hooked up with someone as evil as this?”

Sue stared down at her feet. “I was pretty desperate, I have to admit. I needed a job. A mutual acquaintance put us together after hearing that Jessica needed someone to be the people person for her business. I knew the instant I met her that she was not going to be easy to get along with, but, foolishly, I thought I would figure out a way. Especially since my options were not exactly plentiful at the time.”

“But the property? How did that happen?”

“Jessica found the condo. She needed an investor. I was there. It was an opportunity. Plus…” she added, looking sheepish, “I am horrible at saying no.”

Tom brightened. “Really? Well, I might have to tuck that info away for future reference.”

“Oh, stop! You know what I mean.”

Tom picked up his cup of coffee. “So you’re saying you’re going to have to move? Are you serious? You can’t do that. You’ll leave me broken-hearted. Don’t you know I’m friend-challenged even in the best of times?”

“You and me both. I can count my friends on one hand right now. Maybe only a couple of fingers.”

Tom cocked his head. “Am I on that list?”

Sue felt the heat rise in her cheeks. “Well—you see who I told first about my problem.”

A knock on the door interrupted their conversation.

Sue sighed and crossed the room to answer it. She smiled at Tom as she opened the door.

There stood Jessica with a bouquet of red roses in her hand and a too-big grin on her face. “Oh, Sue,” she gushed as she hugged her. “Aren’t you excited to think we are going to sell that albatross around our necks? I brought flowers to celebrate.”

Sue stood stiffly through the hug. Of course, Jessica would forget that she was allergic to roses. “Ah, well, thank you. Though I didn’t think of the condo as an albatross.”

Tom stood up awkwardly and gave Sue a look that read: Should I go?

Sue untangled herself from Jessica’s embrace and headed into the kitchen to get a vase. She pushed Tom back down on the couch as she went by. “Reinforcements,” she muttered just loud enough for him to hear.

Jessica plopped down on the easy chair across from Tom and said, “So, who are you? Sue hasn’t mentioned any men in her life for quite a while. I believe I would remember hearing about you.”

Sue heard the flirtatious tone in Jessica’s voice and decided to sit right next to Tom.

Tom’s face turned a bright shade of pink. “Sue and I are neighbors. I was just hearing about the condo sale.”

“So glad,” Jessica said, kicking off her shoes. “I am ready for a change and that crappy rental just needs to go.”

Sue felt her neck tighten. “The market isn’t that good right now, you know that, right? Maybe if we waited just a few months, we’d have a better chance of recovering the money we’ve got –.”

“Not happening,” Jessica interrupted. “I am sick of your whole wait, wait wait attitude. Always the same with everything. Oh, Jessica, let’s just s-l-o-w down.” She turned to Tom. “I hate waiting. I’m the type of person who wants what she wants when she wants it. I can’t help it if other people are wishy-washy.” She nodded her head in the direction of Sue.

Tom licked his lips and was about to speak when Sue blurted out, “Excuse me, Jessica. Why are you here?”

Jessica looked over at Tom and gave him a conspiratorial look. “Sounds like somebody has her panties in a wad, wouldn’t you say?” She turned back to Sue, “I just thought you’d be as happy as I am, but I can see you’re being a sour puss today.”

Sue had to restrain herself from not reaching over and choking her. Instead she stood up, “You know, Tom and I have an appointment and are going to have to go.” She walked to the door. “Thank you for stopping by.”

Jessica reached into her purse, pulled out a business card and gave it to Tom. “If you’d ever want to go do lunch or something, then give me a call.”

Tom shook his head, handing the card back. “You seem to enjoy wiping the floor with Sue. Does that make you feel good doing that? I’m guessing it sorta does.”

Jessica stood up and scowled. “Screw you.” She walked to the living room door that Sue was now holding open and walked through. “Caio,” she said, then punched the elevator button which was right across from Sue’s apartment. “By the way,” she said, poking her head back in, “just so you know, I’ve already found a buyer for the condo.” He’s not offering much, but we’ll be rid of it. Like I always say, “Good bye and good riddance!” She turned and disappeared into the elevator.

Sue closed the door and locked it. She looked back over at Tom and said, “If she knocks again, we are not opening that door. I don’t care if we have to stay here for a month, she is not getting back in, understand me?”

“She won’t be back, don’t worry. People like her don’t need other people. That’s in contrast to the rest of us mere mortals who periodically need a little love and affection.”

Sue noted the blue in Tom’s eyes as the sun shone on his face. “Thanks for defending me, by the way.”

“I realize it’s hard to fathom this, but I actually like you, Sue. And nobody is paying me to say that, by the way.”

“I like you, too,” she said quietly.

Tom patted the couch. “Come sit by me,” he said. “We need to think about your next move.”

“Just as long as it’s my next move–.”

Tom shot her a crooked grin. “Well, I’m not promising anything. A pretty girl, a locked door, and a she-devil on the other side. I’d say we have the makings for a pretty good time here.”

Sue sat down next to him and smiled. “I’d say we do…”


15847795-open-and-closed-wooden-doors-isolated-on-white
0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page