top of page

One of Those Tough Days

Today has been a tough day. First, our Corgi, Cordelia, was diagnosed with pancreatitis and is one sick puppy. We will go to the vet again tomorrow for the third day in a row and, hopefully, start seeing a major improvement in her health. Fingers are crossed.

Also, today, we heard back from the ENT who ordered an ultrasound on a 1-centimeter lump on Ray’s neck. We were hoping for a clean bill of health but instead were told the test was “inconclusive” and that Ray now needs to go in for both a CT scan and a needle biopsy. We both are actually calmer than we were when we originally went to see the ENT. I think we were both certain the doctor was going to take one look at this mass and tell us the worst diagnosis possible (Well, I know that’s what I thought, at least.) When he didn’t and said that he thought it was not a problem but we should get an ultrasound just to be sure, Ray and I went out to dinner and a movie to celebrate. The call today was anticlimactic in comparison. Maybe that’s just how the brain works around illness. We have immediately taken a step backward and are being a good deal more cautious about any hasty conclusions. Or, we are still in post-adrenaline overload and just can’t quite muster a second round of panicky “What-if?”

At this point, Ray will go in for the tests and we will proceed accordingly. Or else, my denial will fall away and I’ll be staring straight down the barrel of pure, unadulterated reality and will need a chair, a fan and a big handkerchief. At this point, I believe the best I can say is, “We will see.”

Thank you to those who have already read this news on Ray’s Facebook page and have sent such sweet and supportive notes. It is true that feeling cared about makes a big difference.

On that note, I think I’ll go take an hour nap before I have to wrestle a pill into Cordie’s mouth. 

Like I said, it’s been that kind of day.

I’ll be checking back in again tomorrow.

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page