top of page

Online Shopping, Who Knew?

My children give me gift certificates for birthdays and Christmas at my request so that I will be motivated to go clothes shopping. This is not my strongest suit so all motivation is needed. One of the gift certificates I received was for Talbot’s, which was thoughtful of my girls since they know that this store carries a whole line of clothes in petite sizes. This is essential for someone like me who is 4’11”. So, I forced myself to go through photos online of various shorts from Talbot’s since I am woefully lacking in this wardrobe area, and then I pulled out my handy-dandy gift certificate and bought two pair.

Of course, I didn’t expect much to come of this since I’ve almost never bought a pair of shorts in my life that I haven’t had to have altered, but I decided to go for it anyway. What, after all, did I have to lose since I could always return the shorts?

The gist: my new shorts arrived yesterday and for the FIRST time in a very long time they actually fit. No alterations, no sending back, just perfect. Exactly right. Couldn’t have been better if someone had sewn them for me.

I hardly know how to act.

So today, fortified by that victory, I pulled out several of my other gift certificates and ordered two shirts and a pair of tennis shoes. They will arrive next week and we’ll see if my luck holds out.

Oh, and I forgot. I also ordered myself a pair of new glasses online. I know that was a major risk since they are progressives and that could get tricky, but again I thought, what the heck? I loathe going out to shop so maybe this web-based approach might work for me. We will see. I expect the glasses to arrive in the next day or two.

I realize that online shopping has been going on since the internet came into existence, but I tend to be a bit slow on the uptake. I have never ordered anything online for myself in my life until the last few days.

I am bolstered by my “shorts” success. Who knows? I might be thrilled to bits by my other finds. Or not. We’ll see. Either way, I am feeling heartened. I might not “hit” 100% of the time, but even if it’s just occasionally, my wardrobe is bound to improve.

We will see. But even if nothing else comes from my online shopping experience, I still have two pairs of shorts that are perfect. That makes my entire summer that much more pleasant and easy.

Who says life isn’t filled with a few simple pleasures?  Plus, I finally am using some of the many gift certificates that have been adding up for several years.  That is an extra treat all in itself.


Shopping online

Shopping online


1 view0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page