top of page

Our 34th Wedding Anniversary Tomorrow

Tomorrow, Ray and I will celebrate our 34th wedding anniversary. Below are pictures of 2 of our three weddings. The first is our tiny wedding in Mountain View, Arkansas in the park there with a judge. We had planned on 7 people and 7 more crashed for a total of 14. We were basically eloping, but with just a few close friends there to cheer us on.

The second pictures are of a “real” wedding that my beloved friend Shirley Patterson planned and executed for me on a Sunday with the Stone County Congregation, the Episcopal church group to which she (and her family) and I belonged in Mountain View. Her husband Ray is basically responsible for my marriage to my husband Ray. I had signed a morality clause (believe it or not) with the mental health agency where I was employed and I was not allowed to live with a man out of wedlock. (This was 1980, if you can believe it!) So, Ray and I were trying to figure out how to be together. Ray Patterson said, “Where do you see this relationship going from here?” We both blushed and said, “Well, maybe one of these days, we’ll get married.” Ray Patterson said, “If that’ s where you’re headed and you want to live together now, then why don’t you just go ahead and commit?” Ray Beaty nodded and said, “Yes, that sounds like a great idea.” I was the hold-out. “But, we need to get to know each other better and besides, I’m not sure, and anyway, is that a good idea?” Ray Beaty took me down to the shores of the White River and spent 2 hours making the argument that now was the time and it made perfect sense to jump right in. If anyone knows my husband, they are aware that he can be quite persuasive when he has a goal in mind. By the end of that visit down to the river, we had made the plan to get married. I believe Ray Patterson is to thank for all this happiness – and a few rough spots – that Ray Beaty and I have experienced over these past 33 years. Thank you, Ray. We are both grateful for your insight and foresight.

The third event was a wedding blessing held in Texas and organized by my mother. I couldn’t find any of the pictures – there were only a few – but here is the invitation.  This was the official “church” wedding and was officiated by our beloved Father James Garrard.  His advice to us, “Never get so far apart that you don’t need each other.”  That is some of the best marriage advice I have ever heard.  Lots of wisdom there.

I am happy to share these photos. This marriage has been both a lot of fun and a growth experience from the beginning and has rounded off the sharp edges for both Ray and me. I suppose in the big picture, that is the goal. We also have three beautiful children, an adorable granddaughter, a very sweet son-in-law and another one who appears to be standing in the wings. We are blessed through and through since Ray and I continue to be best friends, through thick and thin. Hallelujah for a few miracles along the way. Love, of course, has been the key.

This is the park wedding in Mtn. View and it was just about 104 by 10 am that day.  One of the hottest summers on record for Arkansas.

Ray is 22; I am 27.


IMG_0620

I believe the judge is talking to us here.


IMG_0621

Here is our wedding blessing with George Burch, a retired Episcopal priest outside his home up in the hills above Mtn. View

The two little girls are Sarah and Naomi Patterson, the daughters of our friends, Shirley and Ray


IMG_0622

Here is the culprit, Ray Patterson, who is reading a scripture for the wedding blessing


IMG_0633

That is a blue ribbon tied on my ankle for “something blue.”


IMG_0634

Sarah and Naomi Patterson, the cutest flower girls ever.


IMG_0628

A homemade wedding cake decorated with real flowers.

Thank you, Shirley!


IMG_0635

A happy and very sweet event that I will always cherish.


IMG_0630

My mother’s invitation for our wedding blessing in Texas


IMG_0636

I guess 3 official weddings did some good, after all….


Thank you, Ray Beaty, for quite a ride so far.  I am looking forward to more adventures for a very long time!


1 view0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page