top of page

Our Day in Palm Springs: Swimming, a Test-Drive & Movies


Today, I started out with a swim.  The temperature of the water was perfect at 8 am. Just slightly cooler than body temperature. I swam underwater, on my back, on my side, and on my stomach (the crawl), then sank down to the bottom and popped back up, over and over. Just like when I was a kid at the Bonham Golf Club, where I spent many hours of my youth.


The temperature at noon was right at 104. We went out to a Toyota dealership and looked at a Prius. I never in a thousand years would have expected my husband to be interested in a Prius, but we just received a hefty repair bill for our LandRover and sanity might demand a new car under warranty that also has excellent gas mileage. Of course, I am delighted by the “green” aspect of the Prius; Ray is delighted by the idea of not getting another one of those hefty repair bills. We will see. It was slightly warm out to be test-driving a car, but our salesperson – a woman – was low-pressure and pleasant so it was a good way for us to painlessly see what we thought of the car. We have resolved to rent one for a few days. After renting many cars in our travels, we’ve learned this is a fabulous way to see if a car is really livable and suitable for our needs. So, this was our accomplishment today.


Besides that, we came back to our hotel and literally holed-up for the afternoon, watching Turner Classic movies for several hours. Then, a quick walk around the block with the dogs, an hour of checking in online with my “Writing Short” class, another movie, this time on Netflix, and then a little online bill paying. Now, I am here writing my blog and it’s 9:52. I am considering a quick dip in the pool before bed. There is not a soul outside around the pool, and it is a lovely evening.

Tomorrow we head back to LA. I have students in the afternoon and evening. I believe I will be greeting them with a much more relaxed attitude than just last week. A few days doing nothing can do wonders.

Thanks again to our sweet daughter Liz for this gift. It has been lovely.

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page