top of page

Our Evening Out

We made it to the Beverly Hills Purim Ball tonight to honor our friend, Dr. Elisa Newman White. I did find a tailor to make the necessary alterations, and I also attended to all of those needed elements to look halfway civilized. Here is a picture of Ray and me just before we left:


SAMSUNG

We saw a whole slew of people from the time we were actively involved with the Beverly Hills school system as volunteers. Ray accompanied at least 10 years of 8th graders from our children’s school of Hawthorne Elementary on their annual week-long trip to Yosemite, and I was the coordinator for the parenting workshops for the district for at least 10 years. Plus, of course, we had three children who attended the Beverly Hills schools for several years: Sarah from 7th grade until graduation; Liz from 3rd grade to graduation; and Rachael from kindergarten to graduation. So, needless to say, we saw quite a few familiar faces. It’s amazing, however, how quickly names can recede, especially the names of people’s children. Still, it was fun to reconvene, check in on life changes, and  also to find out how the kids are all doing.

Our friend, Elisa, one of the honorees, gave a touching speech about all the people she values in her life. She is a breast cancer survivor and we all remember when she lost her hair and was out and about wearing her wig. It was heartening to see her with her own beautiful hair again clearly feeling strong and well. She said in her speech that she has learned from that experience that we can do so much more than we believe we can do.  So true.

So, we have had our Purim Ball experience and are now home ready for bed. I am happy we went and am equally happy to be about to crawl under the covers.

Now my suit is altered, I own a new pair of black pumps, and my roots have been re-touched. No manicure or pedicure, but that’s okay. And I have returned all the jewelry I borrowed from daughter Liz. I guess I’m ready for another dress-up event when the need arises. I even have a second top I can wear just in case.

On that note, I am headed for those warm covers. Ray is already upstairs and, no doubt, already snoring.

Good night to all.  Please share how you’re spending your time these days.  The Comments section awaits you.

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page