top of page

Our Grandbaby’s Official Name

My little granddaughter, who is still in utero, has received her official name from her parents. Luna Isabella. Her paternal grandfather has already decided he will call her by the pet name, Bella, which means beautiful in Spanish, his first language. That’s lovely.

Luna means moon and she is likely to have big round eyes like both of her parents. Moon conjures up lightness and beauty, and I wouldn’t be surprised if this child has both.

I also am very fond of Isabella – this is one of my most favorite names. Alas, there are many little girls named Isabelle and Isabella these days, hence the inclusion as a middle name, but not the name by which this child shall be called.

Isabella means “devoted to God.” I believe in this case, Isabella is the name of a beloved paternal grandmother.

I am happy. Our baby is growing, starting to kick, and has been declared healthy by my daughter’s doctor. My daughter, Sarah, is almost over all of her morning sickness, which has extended almost to her fifth month of pregnancy. Almost over is the best description since even today Sarah said that she was borderline nauseated all day long.

April 5th is the due date and there is lots of growing to do before then. But the ultra sound reveals a perfectly formed infant in the womb with a round tummy and a very sweet profile.

Yes, I know I am obnoxious about the baby thing. It can only get worse, too, you should know. I just ask you to bear with me. I presume all of this excitement will ebb over time. Though I know plenty of grandparents who would deny it ever does.

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page