top of page

Poem for My Sister

Len

GOOD-BYE TO MY SISTER


I see her lying in her hospital bed Dark brown eyes half closed Square jaw tight Can she hear me?

I lean close Hello, Sister.” Her pale lips shift Into a half-smile

Her skin is smooth Her body warm Her legs toned From constant walking

But I know this body Is hiding the truth That a brain once quick Now has locked doors with no keys

I want her to open her eyes To sit up and glide off that bed Ready for a quick walk Ready for a quick talk

And yet I know She is going nowhere Except away in the most real sense Whether it’s today or tomorrow

I lean close And say softly, “What a good sister you’ve been, And will always be.”

She stares off Her eyes focused on her path That takes her away from here To a place that’s free

I kiss her cheek Bid her farewell Watch as she closes her eyes And hope we’ll meet again

2 views0 comments

Yorumlar


bottom of page