top of page

Prep List for Birth Coaching Duties

All is quiet on the baby front. Sarah reported that last night she ate a “Pregnancy Salad” from a LA restaurant that has herbs and greens that supposedly help induce labor, but no go. Today, she drank castor oil and did a few other natural labor-inducing remedies, but nothing so far. This evening she wrote, “Feel exhausted and have NOTHING happening. I just don’t think the ole bod is ready.” Alas…babies have a tendency to come when they’re ready, not when the adults in their lives are ready. I think the watchword needs to shift to relax.

However, it did occur to me that since I am one of the official coaches for the birth – Gregorio is obviously the other – that I should get my little bag prepared so I can be ready as soon as we get the call. Therefore, the clothes I’m going to wear are now washed and are in the dryer, and I have gathered up all the things I can think of that might be helpful during Sarah’s labor.

Here are a few things I learned after the 24 hours of Sarah’s labor for Luna’s birth. (Please, Lord, let this be a fast birth for Sarah’s sake.) I consulted a doula website, as well, just to make sure I wasn’t forgetting anything.

1) Have copies of Sarah’s birth plan ready to give to nurses and to keep for us. 2) Bring a light soft blanket just in case Sarah needs it during early labor. 3) Bring some nice cream to massage Sarah’s legs and feet between contractions. That will be a treat for our little Mama-to-be-for-the-second-time. 4) Make sure Sarah is bringing a heating pad. Very helpful for back labor. 5) Bring a tennis ball to use during back labor. Very helpful. 6) Bring a few high-energy snacks to have just in case Sarah, Gregorio or I get hungry doing this process. 7) Wear layered clothes so that when Sarah wants the room cold because she is hot, I don’t freeze to death. 8) Wear comfortable shoes. Critical piece of equipment. Repeat, comfortable shoes! 9) Bring a water bottle. 10) Bring chapstick. Labor can make lips very dry. 11) Bring essential oils to let Sarah smell between contractions. I have one with ginger and citrus that helps with calmness and clarity. 12) Bring cotton balls to put the essential oils on so they can be tossed if Sarah doesn’t like the scent. 13) Bring mini-toothbrushes, toothpaste and mouth wash. Everyone appreciates fresh breath in the middle of labor when the mother’s senses are heightened. 14) Have cold water and a soft washcloth ready to use during transition. 15) Bring a charger for the cell phone. Picture time will be coming up, after all.

Okay, with that in mind, I am going to wrap this up. I need to go get my clothes out of the dryer and put the blanket in to dry.

I feel better knowing I am prepared. Sarah and I had a good time tonight texting last minute details for the birth. I guess we are moving forward. It is clearly time to now have all these plans in place.

I hope you’ve had a good Sunday, my friends. Tough to think of life starting back up after the holidays tomorrow, but at least it’s been a good, long time to rest and relax.

I’ll be checking back in with you tomorrow.

Until then…

my-husband-bradley-birthing-coach
0 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page