top of page

Preparations For My Role as Birth Coach

Today I am thinking of my preparation as a birth coach to my daughter, Sarah, who is officially due April 5th, but may be having her baby sooner. She is already experiencing some early signs of labor and, who knows, this baby may decide to come early and not on time or late. Whenever the baby comes, I would like to be ready on my part.

I read that birth coaches should wear comfortable clothes and shoes to the birth since they might be standing for a long time. Also, some snacks and a few drinks – juices – should be brought along in case of a long night. Also, a camera needs to come, of course, and, believe it or not, some toothpaste and a toothbrush so the poor birth mother doesn’t get assaulted by bad breath during the experience of labor. Ha! I wouldn’t have thought of that one on my own.

I also have a chart I printed up that is now securely in my purse which has the various stages of labor, the breathing techniques recommended, and behaviors that might be expected from the birth mother. Also in my purse are two essential oils: Grapefruit and Lavender that can be used to help the laboring mother focus. I also tossed in my hand lotion, which has a lovely sandalwood smell, in case Sarah needs some massaging. I still need to get my walnuts and raisins together in a baggie, just in case I start feeling a little hungry…

Sarah is calm, but ready to go. She is exceedingly tired of being pregnant and eager, along with Gregorio, to finally meet face-to-face their little daughter. I, of course, am also excited about this meeting, and Ray has even begun to dream of Luna. He said she was adorable. I presume it is obvious that we are all aflutter over here with anticipation.

So, I am headed up to bed now. Who knows which night I might be awakened to head down to Good Samaritan hospital for this event? I can be ready in a heartbeat even though I don’t have all my provisions ready quite yet. If worse comes to worse, I’ll just grab my toothbrush and toothpaste and go. I can get snacks from the vending machines at the hospital.

Keep us all in your thoughts, please, my friends. We have a beloved little child about to enter the world. Several young women in our family are pregnant at the same time. We have three precious babies arriving this upcoming month – two in Texas and one here in California. Good thoughts for all, please. What blessed events! We are very happy.

Off I go to bed. I need my sleep, after all. A droopy birth coach isn’t much help. I would hate to think I’d be slumping in the corner at the moment of Luna’s birth. Dear Lord in heaven, no! That would be awful. No more typing then. I am done. It is time to put this future grandmother straight to bed.

P_birth_Plans1
0 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page