top of page

Procrastination Over a Health Issue

I have a chronic backache. I think it’s time I make a plan to do something about it. I went to the doctor because I thought it was my hip, but after having me move my leg all round, my doctor said she thinks it’s sciatica. She gave me exercises to do to stretch my back when I saw her back in February. I haven’t done them one time. Of course, my back pain is getting worse. What else could I expect?

It’s crazy how denial works. I say to myself on some level down deep, “Ah, I’ll just ignore this pain and it’ll go away over time.” Well, I’ve had this for a while now and it hasn’t miraculously disappeared. Instead, I can feel it getting worse. The question is why would I not do what will make me feel better? Namely do yoga daily to stretch my back? This is where it gets tricky. I can’t answer that question. Intellectually, I know exercise will make me feel better. But for some reason that I fail to understand, I simply don’t do it. I go ahead with my life as if all is well and then am surprised AGAIN when the pain gets worse. Sometimes I feel just plain stupid about this kind of stuff.

Of course, pain is a motivator. I can see if it keeps up, I actually will be reminded to get out my yoga mat and start doing some stretches. I guess that is one of the purposes of pain.

Also, I am choosing to write about this tonight to remind myself that this is a problem that I can still solve by exercising. I realize that if I continue to ignore it, there may come a time when it will be too late for exercise to make a difference. So, this is my way of putting myself on notice to stop fooling around and get going on those exercises.

I presume I’m not alone with my approach to dealing (or not dealing) with a health issue. Surely I am not the only one who doesn’t do what they know they need to do to feel better. Whatever the case, I resolve to do some stretches tomorrow as Day One in this process. If anyone has experience to share on this topic, please feel free to weigh in. I could use some support to get myself stretching.

On that note, I’ll say good night.

Until tomorrow…


recommended-exercises-sciatica-pain-header
3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page