top of page

Prompt: What I’ve Always Wanted…

Here is an inconclusive list in no particular order.  Still, an interesting exercise.

I’ve always wanted to be fluent in Spanish and Italian.

I’ve always wanted to go on trips to many countries all over the world.

I’ve always wanted a simple and nicely tailored wardrobe with at least two cashmere sweaters.

I’ve always wanted to learn how to drive a motorcycle.

I’ve always wanted a happy and fulfilling marriage that lasted a lifetime.

I’ve always wanted to return to singing in a fine chorale again (I sang with the LA Camerata for a couple of years and had the chance to sing at Carnegie Hall with them, which was fabulous.)

I’ve always wanted to live by the beach in either Maine, California, Mexico or Hawaii, though I’d be happy pretty much anywhere there was actually a beach.

I’ve always wanted to dance often and with people who also loved to dance.

I’ve always wanted a gifted editor who could guide me with my writing.

I’ve always wanted to write novels, essays, short fiction and memoir.

I’ve always wanted to cook so well that people were excited to come over to my house for dinner.

I’ve always wanted to spend at least a month at our house in Texas and also on our land in Ojai.

I’ve always wanted to go off and write for at least a month in a mountain cabin and/or in a house right on the coast of Maine.

I’ve always wanted to return to Italy after living there a year so many years back.

I’ve always wanted a horse and to go riding daily.

I’ve always wanted to swim every day in a big pool so I can swim underwater like I did when I was little.

I’ve always wanted to read every good book in literature and maybe glance at a few bad ones.

I’ve always wanted to know well the lives and music of all major composers…and some minor ones.

I’ve always wanted to know well the lives and art of all major artists…and some minor ones.

I’ve always wanted to know more about the teachings of the major religions.

I’ve always wanted an English literature degree from a college with professors who were passionate about their field.

I’ve always wanted my children to be fulfilled, happy and close friends with me.

I’ve always wanted a close extended family.

I’ve always wanted friends with whom I can relax and confide in and for whom the feeling is mutual.

I’ve always wanted an active and meaningful spiritual life.

I’ve always wanted to laugh, be silly, tells jokes and generally act the fool with people who share my sense of humor.

I’ve always wanted to be as genuine as possible so that people never have to guess who and how I am.

I’ve always wanted to know how to sew well enough to make my own clothes.

I’ve always wanted son-in-laws I could love like sons and grandchildren with whom I get to spend lots of time.

I’ve always wanted to be a well-known and critically acclaimed writer of fiction and nonfiction to the point that I can actually live comfortably on the proceeds from my writing.

I’ve always wanted to be grateful for the many gifts I have received and to recognize the beauty in my life.

I’ve always wanted to get enough sleep every night so that I could be truly rested.

tita-tulum-cabin7-1
2 views0 comments

Opmerkingen


bottom of page