top of page

Pure Comfort Food: An Excellent Turkey Meatloaf Recipe

Sometimes you just need a little comfort food. Something solid that can go along with other comfort foods like mashed potatoes or mac and cheese. For me, meatloaf is in that category. Not beef meatloaf since I haven’t eaten beef since I was 22, but rather turkey meatloaf with a nice layer of catsup on top.

Finding just the right recipe so that you know without even thinking about it that what you’ve made is going to be delicious is always nice. The recipe below is in that category. Follow these instructions and after about 15 minutes of prep and 1 1/4 hour of baking, you are going to have a main dish you can serve to guests who are hungry for down home cooking. Add a salad, mashed potatoes or mac & cheese and you’ll be the new go-to spot for all friends who want to feel as if they’ve been wrapped in a warm quilt on a cold night.

Just to put this recipe in perspective, my daughter Rachael had a boyfriend in college who said to me, “The only gift I want for my birthday is your meatloaf.” I made it and he ate three pieces at dinner and was thrilled when I suggested he take the rest home.

‘Nuff said. Here’s the recipe. Be sure and let me know if you try it. I’d love to hear.

Turkey Meatloaf

1 1/2 pound lean ground turkey 1 cup milk or chicken broth 1 tbsp. Worcestershire sauce 2 teaspoon chopped fresh basil or 1/2 teaspoon dried basil 1/2 teaspoon salt 1/4 teaspoon mustard 1/4 teaspoon pepper 1 chopped clove garlic 1 egg 3/4 cup ground cracker crumbs 1 onion, chopped 1/2 cup red pepper 1/4 cup ketchup

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Mix all ingredients except ketchup. Spread mixture in greased 8 x 4 or 9 x 5 inch loaf pan. Spread ketchup over.

Bake uncovered 1 – 1 1/4 hours or until the thermometer reads at least 160 degrees. Let stand 5 minutes. Remove from pan.

turkey-meatloaf
2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page