top of page

Pure Love

I am in love with the LA Phil. Absolutely in love. I love going to the hour-long talks before the concert where we learn all about what we’re about to listen to, including aspects of the composer’s life which may have contributed to the writing of the piece. I love the free cough drops by the big restroom on the main floor so that people will have some way to combat coughing fits in the middle of performances. I love seeing all the concert-goers in their various states of formal to informal dress, which range from sparkling dresses all the way down to jeans. I love the walk up to the hall (we usually traverse at least 3 flights of steps to get to our seats) and the hum of the crowds as we all head inside. (A hum instead of a blare since this is a crowd of folks for whom sound matters.) And I love sitting in the hall and seeing the orchestra slowly gathering below, quietly chatting with one another as they take their seats before the performance.

Yes, I even love my neighbors, who I make an effort to chat with before the performance. Today’s was a young man from Germany who had recently returned to the U. S. for his 20 year high school reunion at a school in Oxnard, which he had attended as a foreign exchange student.

My love does indeed spread to the music. Today’s was Vivier, Debussy, and Stravinsky. The Vivier was modern and odd, but intriguing: the Debussy was slightly snoozy; the Stravinsky was spectacular.

I am in love with the musicians, as well. Such clear, pure notes; so well executed. And Gustavo Dudamel. Wow. Not much older than my oldest child and the conductor for the LA Phil. How talented is he to have accomplished that so early? Massively talented, is the answer.

Ray and I both are in love with the LA Phil. He said, “I just want to bring the oboe and the french horn soloists home and make them play for me.” I feel the same way, though I might add the bassoonist.

I certainly never expected to be in love at this age, or with an entity rather than a single person. But I am not complaining. Love is good, no matter when or with whom.

And you?  What are you in love with? Share your passion with me. I am curious.


b_la_featured-disneyhall1
0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page