top of page

Quick-Write Musings

I am sitting with fifteen-year-old Michael and we are both doing our quick writes. I have been working all day with students on college essays that are due either today or November 30th so this is a nice respite from that very concentrated work. Cordelia, our corgi, just jumped up on the couch next to Michael; Frankie, our terrier, is in a nearby chair. Luckily, Michael is dog-friendly so he seems fine with these sometimes obnoxious creatures. Also, because he is fine, they often get much calmer and sometimes even a bit less obnoxious.

Ray and daughter Liz returned from Texas this morning. I was up by 6:30 am and out of the door by 7:15 to meet their 8:10 flight from Dallas. They had gotten up at 3:30 in the morning and were on the road by 4:15 to drive the hour to Love Field in Dallas. They arrived looking pretty sleepy, but also happy to be back. They made a quick trip to Texas to do some work there related to our rental properties and our antique sales. I couldn’t go because this is my busiest time of year, work-wise. 

As it is, Ray and I are leaving the first week in December for several days to stop off in Texas, then head on to Nashville to see my brother Sam and his partner, Jaime. We made the hard choice to miss Sam’s birthday celebration in October because that event was coupled with an album-release party and a whole crowd of folks was coming to support Sam’s efforts. It was hard to miss all that fun, but Sam and I agreed we wanted/needed some time when the four of us could just hang out together for a few days. Needless to say, I’m looking forward to that trip.

What else? I don’t have a lot else to report. My days right now are centered on college essays and I will say that some truly wonderful ones are being generated here in my den. I am very pleased with the work my students are producing and I feel confident that these essays will bolster these kids’ applications in a very real way. Too, I get to know these students very well with these tough questions they are required to write on, which also adds an extra positive aspect to my day-to-day life.

Okay, the timer is ringing. I will close for now. I will check back in tomorrow.

Until then, I wish you well.

masthead_02_musings
0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page