top of page

Quickwrite: My students, My Granddaughter, Petrarch…

I am sitting with Jonah. I can hear our employee, Gregorio (not our son-in-law) and Ray outside talking about Gregorio’s upcoming trip to Hawaii tomorrow. He is very excited since this is the first trip he’s gone on in a very long time. He and his wife are going for their 25th wedding anniversary and this trip was a gift from their four sons who are all grown now. How nice is that?

Jonah is sitting in the comfortable Barcalounger across the room from me and is writing away. He is wearing a blue hoodie sweatshirt, shorts and tennis shoes. His cousin, Amir, was still here when Jonah arrived. Amir and Jonah have at least 10 years difference in their ages, but they seem to be good and close friends. Their families are close, I know, and see each other a lot. I am impressed with how much time their whole family spends together. They make time together a high priority.

I am missing my grandbaby, Luna, today. I am ready to see the little monkey even though I just saw her on Friday. Today is Tuesday, after all, and that means it’s been four whole days. Lordy, Lordy. I wish she lived next door. That would be as close to perfect as it could get for me, or at least down the street. As it is, she lives in Pasadena, which is about 30 – 40 minutes away when the traffic isn’t bad. That is much better than Texas, of course, but right next door? That would be heaven. (I’m not sure my son-in-law would find it quite so “heavenly,” but then again, there would be a built-in babysitter. There are surely pros to that!)

I had a student for four hours last night, and four hours this morning. Midterms at UCLA bring students with papers on hard subjects and it is a learning experience for me as well as my student. Alas, we are now finished and I am happy. I know a lot more about Petrarch and Alberti than I knew before we started and surely that is a good thing. I am lucky to get to learn in my job; particularly since my knowledge of Italian Humanists of the 1300’s is fairly limited. Certainly not as limited now as it was yesterday morning!

There goes the timer. We need to wrap up this quick-write. I can hear Gregorio outside watering the plants. The sound of water is always so nice.  I am so happy for him.  He deserves a vacation where he and his wife can just sit on the beach and swim for a whole week.

Luna with her godfather, Casey


10154120_10202126399697772_2409536716916179500_n
1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page