top of page

Quiet Here after a Trip to “Stinky’s”

I am sitting in our Texas home. The gas fire is bright orange in the old space heater and the outside temperature is heading down to 31 degrees tonight. The lights are low and the only sound I can hear is the traffic from the highway off in the distance.

We’ve had a hectic day of settling in here, complete with a trip to the metal recycling center. This place is called “Stinky’s” and it fits the name, not in smell, but in sight, with a whole backlot filled with piles of assorted car parts, wiring, old metal posts and basic junk of many varieties. We added our load to the pile while a front loader filled a big 18-wheeler with old water heaters. I felt good we were recycling, but the middleman’s job is not a pretty one, I assure you.

I took a few pictures of Stinky’s just to give you a window into that world. Here they are:


SAMSUNG

SAMSUNG

SAMSUNG

SAMSUNG

And my personal favorite…


SAMSUNG

As I was checking out inside the building, a woman saw my name and said, “I knew a Leatherwood when I was in high school. His name was Sam.” Of course, that’s my brother, who is 56 this year. Sam, if you’re reading this, you have a long lost friend who works behind the desk at Stinky’s. She spoke of you fondly.

I am happy to be here in Texas. We have lots of work to do this week as we prepare to sell the house that we’ve been restoring across the street from our home here. Wish us luck. We need it. But it helps that it is now beautiful thanks to the hard work of Darrah Dunn and Chris Robinson. Thank you, guys. Here’s hoping all goes well at this next phase of the process.

On that note, I will close.

Happy evening, folks.

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page