top of page

Rachael’s Birthday Dinner w/ Recipe Included

We had our belated birthday dinner for Rachael this evening. Lots of fun at Sarah and Gregorio’s new apartment in Sierra Madre.  I made homemade stuffed shells and peach pie, both Rachael’s favorites.  I have included the stuffed shell recipe before, but it’s so good that I’m going to post it again.  This is truly a recipe you can always count on and is pretty enough to serve for the nicest and most special of dinners.  Here is what I did:

First, I made a marinara sauce with sautéed onions and garlic, spices, canned tomatoes, tomato sauce and red wine. Delicious.

Then I made the filling: Into a big bowl I poured out a 32 ounce container of ricotta cheese, added lots of grated mozzarella cheese, a generous amount of Parmesan cheese, and enough chopped parsley to make it colorful.

At this point, a big pan of water on the stove was coming to a boil. I added two boxes of pasta shells, waited 9 minutes, then drained them.

I stuffed the pasta shells, placed them in a big baking dish over a bit of the marinara sauce, and repeated the process until all the shells and the filling were gone. Then I covered all the shells with marinara sauce, followed by both mozzarella and parmesan cheese, then popped it into a 350 degree oven for 45 minutes.

This recipe is hard to beat.  Tonight we ate a pan and a half of the shells which go perfectly with a great salad.  We also had French bread.  Delicious.

Rachael’s birthday was a success in no small part to the stuffed shells. Tried and true.

I’ll be checking back in tomorrow. Hope you’re looking forward to a good weekend.

shells
1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page