top of page

Rain and Hope in the Forecast

Rain is in the forecast for tomorrow. Ray and I went out back this evening and put away anything that might be damaged by water. The chances we will see any significant rainfall is not high. When we hear we’re getting rain in Los Angeles it might mean just a few sprinkles. Still, we’re ready and hoping to see the skies go gray, feel the wind shift, and smell that delightful fresh rain smell. My garden could sure use a good slow soaking shower, though the chances of that are almost non-existent.

Having grown up in Texas where thunderstorms are part of the landscape, I look forward to rain perhaps more than most. Rain means nourishing the plants, cleaning off grime from too many cars, and purging the air of pollutants, at least for a little while. It also serves to soothe my soul since hearing the steady drumming of raindrops on the roof brings me peace.

I have read that this may be an El Nino year, which means that in February and March – our rainy season – we might actually see some showers. That is something for me to look forward to. I might even go out and buy a sweater or two in anticipation.

My Texas relatives are still in town – well, they’re in Laguna Beach today – and I was telling them how silly Californians get about a little rain. “Storm Watch 2012” will no doubt be airing tomorrow if we get ten minutes of showers. Rain that in Texas wouldn’t even merit noticing. But, we’re here in a dry place where rain is rare and I suppose it does brighten up the weatherman’s day to finally have something to report other than the usual “Sunny and 72 degrees.” I suppose I should not begrudge the only thrill those folks get over the course of their broadcast year.

The temperatures are dropping and there were a few clouds in the sky at sunset. Maybe we really will get a whole day of dripping rain. That would be lovely for everyone except those who will be forced to deal with wet roads and too-fast cars. I am waiting to see the weather at 11. I plan to stay up just so I can hear the probabilities of a shower. Yes, I realize that for those of you in rainy climates that might seem excessive, but for this transplanted Texan who loves thunderstorms, the promise of a little wet weather has me practically running outside to check the sky. California is a great place to live and I love Los Angeles, but a change in weather is not all that common. So, I suppose I’m not too different from those weathermen. I’m excited at the prospect of a little change.

Maybe I’ll even hunt down my umbrella. I might need it if we have that “storm watch” and things get wild.

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page