top of page

Ramblings from the Orange Grove

It is 7 pm and I am sitting in our Airstream in Ojai. Ray is still out somewhere in the orange grove. Luna is not with us this week because she has been sick. (Nico is not quite ready to be away from mom long enough for us to keep him overnight.) Anyway, we are hopeful we will get to spend time with Luna on Saturday and take her home on Sunday when we’ll be celebrating Sarah’s birthday and our belated Mother’s Day. In addition, we will be celebrating another joyous occasion on Sunday: youngest daughter Rachael’s completion of her first year of law school. She took her last exam today and starts a summer-long internship on Monday. No rest for the weary Rachael!

Ray and I are headed for Texas early next week. We’ll be there at our Texas home for around 10 days. Ray has already organized our annual garage sale with our North Crockett neighbors and we’ll be having that on Saturday, May 21st. (North Texas folks, mark your calendars!) I’m looking forward to spending time in our beautiful Victorian in Sherman and seeing our old friends there.

Ray is here now and is ready for us to head into downtown Ojai in just a minute. We have a few errands to run. I have to hurry and finish this because I have to “steal” Internet coverage from my neighbor (with her permission) and I will be doing that upon our return. I’ll pull into her driveway and get close enough to pick up her signal. Alas…this is part of what happens when we spend time at the orange grove. Unplugged is good. It’s a nice change from my near constant time working on my computer, which comes with my job as a writing teacher.

Have a great evening.

Until tomorrow…

IMG_3573
1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page