top of page

Ray’s Birthday Meal


I made this quiche for Ray today for his birthday.  The kale came straight my garden out back.

I would highly recommend this recipe.  I made a few substitutions which I believe improve the recipe in some key areas. Otherwise, it’s a 5 star!


Kale and Onion Quiche


  1. Prep Time: 25 mins

  2. Total Time: 1 hr 20 mins

  3. Servings: 6


About This Recipe

“Even using whole milk and full fat ingredients, this is fairly low cal, but if fat-free or low fat alternatives this would be a great low cal/low fat brunch or lunch dish. Recipe source: local newspaper”


Ingredients

  1. 1 prepared 9 inch pie shell

  2. 3 eggs (I used 4 eggs)

  3. 3/4 cup half-and-half (I used 1 cup nonfat milk for all the milk in the recipe.)

  4. 3/4 cup milk (Read my note above.)

  5. 1/2 teaspoon salt

  6. 1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes (optional)

  7. black pepper

  8. 1 tablespoon vegetable oil (I used olive oil)

  9. 1 tablespoon butter

  10. 5 green onions, minced (I used a yellow whole onion.)

  11. 3 garlic cloves, chopped

  12. 2 cups kale, chopped (Fresh from the garden)

quiche7
  1. 1/2 cup cheddar cheese, grated (I used a cup.)


Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 425-degrees F.

  2. Tear off a piece of foil large enough to fit inside of pie crust and then press it into the pie crust and fill with dried beans. Bake for 10-15 minutes. Remove from oven and discard foil and beans. Set aside.

  3. In a bowl whisk together eggs, half and half, milk, salt, red pepper flakes (if using) and black pepper. Set aside.

  4. In a skillet on medium high heat oil and butter and add onions and garlic, cooking until softened (3-5 minutes). Stir in kale and cook stirring until wilted (5 minutes).

  5. Spoon vegetables into crust and sprinkle with cheese. Pour egg/milk mixture over all.

  6. Bake for 30-40 minutes or until set.

0 views0 comments

Comentários

Não foi possível carregar comentários
Parece que houve um problema técnico. Tente reconectar ou atualizar a página.
bottom of page