top of page

Redecorating

Rain is drumming on the tin roof of our Victorian. Lots of rain that promises to bring much-needed moisture to a drought-stricken area. So, the sound has relief contained in it. Gratitude accompanied by a long sigh.

Ray and I have been moving furniture around. The red furniture that was in the “green” room is now in the front parlor and we have new “old” furniture for the green room – my birthday present from Ray – an oak and cane couch and two matching rockers. Ray and I love “playing house” as he calls it. That means shifting furniture, books, knickknacks and wall hangings from one room to the next. That’s what we’ve been doing tonight.

I met a woman the other day who said, “It’s so great that your husband is supportive of your interest in antiques.”

I gave her a hard look to make sure she wasn’t kidding, then said, “I believe you have misunderstood. In my family, my husband leads the charge when it comes to antiques.”

Luckily, I have learned how to spot good buys, bargain and seal the deal, as well as figure out where to put our new acquisitions in the house. But the operative word in that sentence is “learned.” Before Ray, I had a sense of what I liked and didn’t like, but I didn’t quite know how to put pieces together to create a pleasing look. Ray has taught me how to do that. I am so appreciative of that gift. It has enriched my life dramatically.

So, now I am sitting in the now “red” front parlor and am exceedingly happy with this room.

A little shift can make such a difference and bring a whole new outlook. I am happy to have a whole different way of looking at this room as of today.

What have you been moving? Please share in the comments section.

0 views0 comments

ความคิดเห็น


bottom of page