top of page

Repost: Why I Write

I periodically have to remind myself why I write. Tonight is one of those occasions. It certainly is not for the money, by the way, or the fame. So, why do I write? Let me think about that question for a minute.

I write because:

1) I often express myself on paper better than through the spoken word. 2) I want to chronicle an experience, a feeling, a thought. 3) I love the way the keys on the keyboard feel underneath my fingertips. 4) I feel compelled to express myself. 5) I am lonely and want to see what’s happening inside my head. 6) I am curious and want to see what’s happening inside my head. 7) I feel outraged and need to express those feelings on the page. 8) I feel happy and need to express those feelings on the page. 9) I feel confused and need to express those feelings on the page. 10) I love the process of putting one word after another to form a thought. 11) I am a masochist. 12) I love having even one person respond to something I’ve written. 13) I nurse the secret hope that I’ll write that one fabulous essay, story, novel that will impact a whole group of people. 14) I admire the critical thinking that can come with writing. 15) I admire the storytelling process. 16) I believe that positive communication is the key to harmony in the world. 17) I love stories – telling them, hearing them and reading mine and those of others. 18) I hope I’ll learn something about myself by writing. 19) I have a need to make sense of the world though writing. 20) I am in love with words. 21) I am in love with grammar. 22) I am in love with the concept of connection through the written word. 23) I appreciate it when others express themselves in writing and I want to return that favor. 24) I love reading. 25) I feel connected to a larger community as a result of writing. 26) I love creating a whole fictional world through writing. 27) I amuse myself to no end by creating that fictional world full of characters. 28) I look for meaning in that imaginary world when I am engaged in novel writing. 29) I feel more tuned in and aware in this world when writing a novel, afraid I might miss some wonderful detail that begs to be included in my story. 30) I enjoy life inside my head with its wide cast of diverse characters and the problems they face.

That is certainly not a definitive list, but that’s good enough for now. I can go to bed knowing that all of this time I have spent writing is not for naught. I expect I am a healthier person because writing is a critical part of my life. That is surely a plus.

Startup Stock Photos

Startup Stock Photos


0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page