top of page

Return to LA and Work

We have returned from our Montana jaunt. What fun that was! So impromptu. Last week we sold those bronzes and a few days later, we were off to Montana. This trip was so different from our usual life of schedules and lists and times to get this or that done. What a refreshing change of pace.

I am now back home and am facing some busy times with students over the next couple of weeks. One of my UCLA students has a 20-page paper due, plus a 6 page paper. Another student has two 5-page papers due or is that three? Plus, I have a student back from Boston University who is hell-bent on writing for publication this summer (our hope and goal) and several younger students who will be coming for help to improve their reading and writing skills. In addition, my adult student who is almost finished with her second draft of her novel (Congrats, Patricia!) is going full speed ahead as are my online students who are learning about flash memoir and flash fiction (pieces under 1200 words). That doesn’t include my own writing, of course, which includes my daily blog, plus work on my novel-in-progress. Alas, life is full.

Right now, I just want to go to sleep. I was up by 4 this morning and had a couple of short naps in our 10 hours of driving, but nothing substantial enough to consider really restful. Now at 8:33 pm, I am feeling my eyelids drooping and a profound need to go upstairs and crawl into my bed. Lord knows sleep is a good thing. Good for the body and the mind.

So, I think what I’ll do is get ready for bed, read some of the reading I need to do to help with one of the term papers, then go quickly to sleep. I will set my alarm for early in the morning and do the rest of the reading before my students begin to arrive at 9. I am booked solid tomorrow since I took a few days off for my Montana trek. That decision was definitely worth it. Ray and I have not had that restful a time in years.

Good night, my friends. I am glad we are safely back home.


2013-02-19-back-to-work

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page