top of page

Seeing Luna and the Importance of Nurturing

I am riding back home with Ray from an evening in Arcadia seeing Sarah, Gregorio and baby Luna.  Ray and I took turns holding our little pink snuggle bunny while Sarah finished cooking and Gregorio put together a recently purchased baby swing.  I admit to not being a great sharer when it comes to Luna, but I did my best to give Grandpa several opportunities to hold her.  After all, he needs to bond, as well.

All of this recent focus on our new granddaughter brings to mind the extreme importance of infant nurturing.  “Treat babies like babies when they’re little and they won’t act like babies when they grow up.”  I heard this bit of advice when I was a young mother and I took it to heart.  Ray and I held our little girls a lot when they were babies.  I carried all three girls in a baby pack on my back all day long those first months of their lives.  They just went where I went and watched or slept while I worked at home and also in our family business.  So, of course I approve of Sarah and Gregorio’s “hands-on” parenting skills.  This suits me just fine.

Young parents are all tired and Gregorio and Sarah are no exception.  Still, they have had two nights that gave them a little hope: 7.5 hours one night and five hours another.  I suspect their little family is settling into a routine that will make everyone happy.  The sooner the better for all parties involved!

We are almost home and I am fighting off sleep.  After a day that started early with a drive downtown to the courthouse for jury duty, I look forward to laying my head on the pillow.

Good night to all.  More jury duty tomorrow.

As for baby Luna, I hope to hold that little girl as much as I can!

0 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page