top of page

Shopping for a Tiny Apartment Kitchen

‘The house is quiet. It is 11:30 pm. Shadows fall across the floors in 2 rooms I can see from my vantage point in a chair near the gas heater in the staircase room of our Victorian. I don’t have one word to say that I think anyone would find interesting. But here I am with 20 minutes of writing to do.

Today we had a mega-shopping day for the kitchen of the apartment we are creating upstairs in our Victorian. The apartment is small: a living room, bedroom, bathroom and kitchen. Everything is complete except for the kitchen.  However, a tenant is arriving in 2 weeks. Hence, the shopping day.

So off we went this morning to IKEA where we bought shelves and various small kitchen what-nots to aid in space-saving. For example we bought a small wire dish drainer that hangs on the wall from a hook and folds up when you aren’t using it. We also bought a cart that can fit against the wall and hold kitchen equipment, but can also be rolled out and used as a cutting board. This cart also has a drawer where utensils can be stored. After IKEA in Frisco, we headed to the ReStore in McKinney, the store associated with Habitat for Humanity, which sells all the donations that could not be used. This is a treasure trove usually, but today we bought only a light fixture for the new kitchen. From there, we headed back to Sherman where we went to Best Buy and bought a discounted microwave that has an exhaust fan underneath it. This is designed to go over a kitchen range. I had never seen one of these, but most people probably have them in newer homes. I just don’t happen to live in newer homes. After that, we headed to Lowe’s where we bought an apartment-size kitchen range to go under that microwave with its exhaust fan. Tomorrow, a small refrigerator is being delivered. This is an Igloo and is 99 pounds. Just big enough to keep a fair amount of food without being too heavy to get up a steep staircase.

The kitchen is going to be efficient with a heavy dose of Victorian charm thrown in. That charm will be in the form of woodwork, of which there is a lot, and cabinets that are simple but beautiful.

Our goal is to have all the elements in place before we leave for CA on Tuesday. From there, our trusted workers, Darrah Dunn and Chris Robinson, who have grown into master craftsmen, will transform what was raw attic space not very long ago. The whole upstairs has slowly been transformed over the past 6 years. The apartment represents one of the last projects remaining. (We have a master bathroom and closet still to go.)

I am eager to see the kitchen in all of its glory. However, I’m afraid I will have to view only the more raw version in person and be satisfied with photos from afar. We will be heading back to LA since we have a rather pressing need to return to work…

Alas, I believe I have met my 20 minute goal. I think I will close. If you’ve read this far, then I know you’re one of the loyal few. For that, I thank you.

What projects do you have going in your life? I’d love to hear. Fill me in.

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page