top of page

Slap Wore Out…

I am in bed at 9:46 pm, about 3 hours later than I would have preferred to be snuggled up under the covers. I am slap wore out as some say in Texas, and I don’t quite know what the “slap” part means except it lends to the rhythm of that phrase and feels satisfying. Some people say, “wore slap out.” That is the other version and in truth, I have no idea which one is correct. I will do a moment’s worth of investigation right now and get right back with you….

I have failed. I can’t find a suitable origin for this phrase. The only hits on my inquiry were other inquiries asking about the origin. I looked under Southern sayings and Texas sayings, but to no avail. If you happen to know (or can venture a good guess as to where this saying came from), please let me know. I am deeply interested.

Regardless of its origin, the phrase continues to describe accurately how I ‘m feeling. I am slap wore out or I am wore slap out can be interchanged if need be. I don’t care which one I pick.

On that note, I’ll close since my eyes can hardly stay open.

Merry Christmas to all and to all a good night.


Slap Wore Out
0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page