top of page

Smattering of Favorite Music: 1960 – 1969

I was thinking about the music that I associate with growing up. There is a lot that comes to mind, but I thought I might just put together a few songs that bring back big memories from my childhood and adolescence. This will be far from definitive, but it a spattering of what life sounded like in the 1960’s for this small town Texas girl. Here goes:

Here is Joan Baez singing “Silver Dagger.” This is 1960 and I was 7 years old. I learned every song on this album and sang most of them to my children when they were growing up.

Then Peter, Paul and Mary came to serenade me in 1962 with “Lemon Tree,” and I learned many of these songs, too. I was a 9-year-old obsessed with folk music by this time.


Of course, then came Bob Dylan with “Mr. Tambourine Man” in 1964. I was 11 by now.


Then in 1965 came The Beatles’ “Rubber Soul” album with “Norwegian Wood.”


Then in a switch, here are the Beach Boys, “God Only Knows, which was recorded in 1966.


But there was a major shift in 1967 with these songs:

Jefferson Airplane’s “Somebody to Love:”


The Doors’ “LIght My Fire:”


Buffalo Springfield’s “Lonely People:”


The Beatles’ “A Day in the LIfe:”


Then 1968 hit and there were several:

Marvin Gaye’s “Heard It Through the Grapevine:”


Jimi Hendrix’s “All Along the Watchtower:”


Cream’s “Crossroads:”


The Beatles’ “Hey Jude:”


Then in 1969:

Crosby, Stills, Nash’s “Judy Blue Eyes:”


The Beatles’ “Because:”


I could go on and on, but I must admit I’m getting tired. Now I realize how music-rich the 60’s was. I haven’t even gotten started, to tell you the truth.

But this will have to do for tonight.

Happy listening, my friends.

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page