top of page

Stuck in Late Afternoon Traffic

We are now in Santa Monica making our way east with a lot of other people.  It is 6:44 pm and we are creeping down Santa Monica Blvd. at what seems like an inch an hour. The only upside to this drive is that I don’t have to do this everyday.

The orange grove in Ojai was cool, dark and quiet and the stars were bright.  However, the meteors must have “showered” while we slept.  I saw three, which could be described as a sprinkle, I suppose, but certainly not a shower.

We stayed in the old Spartan trailer on the land, which we haven’t done in a long time.  We discovered that Sammie was up all night, standing watch, and about 3 am pushed thrown the screen door in pursuit of something outside.  I was running through the orange grove, half naked, with flashlight in hand.  I kept expecting to hear the coyote “kill” howl, but luckily found her before that could happen.  Sure enough, we were barely inside when I heard the howls of a pack of coyotes not far away.  A close call for our little Scotty!

Well, we have progressed a few blocks while I have written this.  We are almost to Westwood, which is still another 20 – 30 minutes from home with this traffic.  Good grief!

Okay, I will close.  At least we can listen to Outlaw Country on Satellite Radio.

Until tomorrow…

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page