top of page

Ten Things Age Has Brought Me Since I Turn 59 Today

Today is my birthday. I am 59-years-old. That’s one year from 60 for those of you with less than stellar math skills. Dear Lord in heaven, how did that happen? The 60 part, not your math skills.

It’s crazy this aging thing. The part that nobody mentioned (all those OLD people like my mom and dad) is that age 58 is not that different than age 28 except that all those little kids you had then are now grown up and starting to talk about having kids of their own. How come nobody mentioned that? I thought I would feel so different at this ripe old age, but I truly don’t. Maybe I’m lucky, but though the mirror tells a different story, my body doesn’t feel that different either. Okay, I might feel more like 34 than 28, but that’s about it and I might mention that I felt great at 34. So, what are the changes that age brings?

Okay, I’m thinking while I write so don’t expect anything too profound…

Age brings to me:

1) A greater comfort level with who I am. Meaning, I am now more comfortable with just being this very imperfect me. That’s a big one, by the way. 2) A greater acceptance and appreciation of my beloved husband, Ray, and his imperfect ways. He says that I am “easier” than I used to be, that I laugh a lot more often and I don’t get mad quite as much. I would say the same for him. This is a second big one since we used to fight like banshees. 3) A greater appreciation of these wonderful creatures called my children. How could any mother feel more proud of her chicks than I do? I can’t imagine. I now have the luxury of seeing them in their adult selves and they are each so unique and wonderful. For this I am deeply grateful, by the way. 4) A greater awareness that there are no guarantees in life. Big changes can happen in an instant, or else come slow, but sure, and nobody is immune. That nobody includes ME, in capital letters. 5) A greater appreciation for my beloved extended family and friends. As the years pass, I see that those long-term relationships are the sustenance of life. 6) A growing appreciation for my spiritual side. I can see how this aspect of my life will help me get through difficult times to come. 7) A deep appreciation for nature. How critical this is to my happiness! 8) A growing appreciation for the arts. How these enrich our lives in ways I couldn’t have imagined when I was younger. 9) A deep-seated love for animals. Yes, I am thinking of Cordelia, my corgie, here. 10) An awareness that the time is now and there aren’t necessarily years and years to come. This is good since it helps me to move on with those things I’ve been waiting until I had more time to do.

My grandmother said that her favorite time of life was between 60 – 70 because she had nothing else to prove and she could do what she damn well pleased. I am only one year from 60. All of a sudden that seems like a good thing, particularly if Grandma is right!

0 views0 comments

留言


bottom of page