top of page

“The Americans”- Keeping Me Awake At Night

I am looking forward to bed tonight since I’ve stayed up too late the last couple of nights binge-watching Season 4 of “The Americans.” Ray and I have been watching this series for a while and usually are satisfied to watch a couple of episodes and go to sleep at a civilized hour. However, suddenly the story heated up and over the weekend we found ourselves literally awake until 3 am since we both had to see what happened to a couple of characters. Last night it was midnight and we are generally up and out of bed by 6:30 or 7 every morning thanks to our overly eager dogs. So…it’s obvious I need a good night’s sleep and perhaps to shift my attention away from any espionage series for at least a little while.

Here is a link to a piece in the New Yorker about “The Americans,” in case you’re interested.

And here’s a trailer for the show as well. It is well-acted and is multi-layered. I would recommend it but not if you have a job that requires that you are well-rested. Then maybe you better forgo this odd, but entertaining Russian spy drama set in the mid-1980s.


0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page