top of page

The Big Country (1958) and Ray

Today Ray was not feeling well so we spent some time watching movies on television. The Big Country (1958) was one of those movies. It stars Gregory Peck, Jean Simmons, Carrol Baker, Charlton Heston and Burl Ives.

I have to say that Burl Ives commands this movie with his performance. I didn’t know until afterwards that he won an Oscar for his portrayal of a rough and tumble rancher who is in a water war with his neighbor.

I have included a video clip of Ives at the beginning of the movie. A wonderful scene, but only one of several that are noteworthy. One of his last scenes made me tear up with emotion, something I didn’t expect.

I looked this movie up on Rotten Tomatoes. It has a 100% from film critics and a 90% from audiences. I would rate it an 8 on a 1 – 10 scale. Definitely worth your time, particularly since Ives’ performance is so outstanding.

Ray is feeling slightly better. Many people we’ve seen so far here report a bout with this same low-grade illness that Ray is experiencing. Cough, congestion and a general feeling of yuck. Someone says it lasts about four days. I think Ray is on day three now. The end might be in sight – of the illness, not Ray, hopefully!

It’s going to be 32 degrees here early in the morning. I guess winter is actually coming in the near future.

Talk tomorrow, my friends.


0 views0 comments

Kommentare


bottom of page