top of page

The Joys of Teaching Writing: Online and Off

I am sitting here in my living room – night outside – and I am ready to finish up my work for today. I have been busy all day, as usual, but not crazy busy. My “Flash Fiction/Memoir” online class started on Monday through Story Circle Network, so I’ve been occupied responding to students’ comments on the readings that have been provided. That is always fun because I am getting to know the people participating in this 5 week course and before it’s over, we’re all good friends.  I like teaching online.  It’s an effective method for me because I like the convenience of working at home coupled with the chance to teach others about a writing medium I love.  No downside to that.

I also had a few in-person students today. This was nice because they were students with whom I’ve worked for at least 3 to 4 years each, so we know each other very well. I love working with middle school and high school students one-on-one. They are open, receptive and grateful for my help with their writing projects so I don’t have discipline problems. We have a task – specific essays or term papers to write – or else creative writing, and either way, they are glad to be here with me. What a treat it is to work with these kids. They are smart, sweet, funny and hardworking. I am blessed to have a job like this. It is pure fun, except, of course, when dealing with tough subjects and deadlines. But life can’t be perfect, after all.

But for tonight, I think I’m ready to close down this computer – my constant companion – and head upstairs to take a bath. Warm water and a few bubbles sound tantalizing.

Happy evening to all. I will be back with you tomorrow.

Until then…sleep well.

5191797_f260
0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page