top of page

The Old Lady Emergeth


cutcaster-photo-100769234-Happy-Old-Lady-Cartoon

Tonight, we are supposed to go out to see my friend Judy’s son perform at a dance club at 11 pm. This is to debut his new album, one which he – Alexander – has been working hard on for a while now. I want to support this boy’s hard work. I want to support my friend’s child, but going out on a weeknight at 10:30 to make it to a show in Silverlake at 11 pm. Yikes. 11? How can we do that when we are usually in bed by 9?

When do you know you’re getting older? Let me tell you in a nutshell. When you’ve had a bath by 7 pm and you’re already in bed by 7:30. Am I describing myself? Well…yes. At least, tonight. Last night Rachael and Liz were here and after we ate dinner and Rachael headed home, Liz and I sat in the living room around the glass-topped table and I wrote my blog while she studied for a class in law school. But how about tonight when we are supposed to go somewhere at 11 pm? Yes, I took a bath at 7 and am in my pajamas now while I sit in bed. It is 8:02. Blog writing time again.

I am aware of a few differences that have cropped up in the past couple of years. I don’t like to think these are age-related, but they may very well be. Let’s see what they are:

1) I have taken to being a lot more careful when I am driving.

I realize this isn’t a bad thing, but why do I remind myself of a little old lady as I creep through the city streets on hyper-alert? I would not want to be behind me since I am driving at a snail’s pace. I am afraid I may someday cause an accident since people may want to pass…

However, what can I say? I have lost my bravado behind the wheel. I am happy to go out and come back without a call to my insurance company. But I must admit, I liked it better when I felt a little more at ease with the car.

2) I cannot, for the life of me, hear those words that people say at the end of sentences.

You know which ones. The ones that fall into a mumble as all the air is released. So, I am left to wonder what that last word was. And last words make a major difference in how to respond to a sentence. Which means that at least part of the time when I haven’t admitted I didn’t hear, then I get a quizzical look from the speaker; one that reveals that they now know my little secret – I am more deaf than I like to admit. Ah, yes, the little old lady syndrome again. Perhaps time to get that hearing aid.

3) Exercise seems harder to build into my life than ever before.

I used to love hiking or at least walking every day. Now I find myself resistance to even a walk around the block. I sometimes go on one, but it’s usually motivated by Ray and a suggested trip to the bank. I am not sedentary when I am working in Texas, but get me back to LA and I become a couch potato. Is that aging or just laziness? Maybe a little of both. Still, I am aware I need to get moving.

Okay, there are more, but that will do for now. I am having trouble keeping my eyes open. I cannot imagine we are going out at 11 pm. I think I will have to explain tomorrow to my friend that our hearts were in the right place, but the flesh was weak. Oh boy, one more old lady thing to do – not mobilize for a late night event.

Well, if the truth be told, I have always been an early to bed person and an early riser. Some of this is not due to my recent birthday and my awareness of my increasing age. Some is just plain, “I would prefer to stay home.”

On that note, I think I’ll take a little nap. Maybe I’ll wake up at 10 and be ready to jump in the car. I guess crazier things have happened.

But for now, I’ll just get a little shut-eye. After all, it’s been a long day.

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page