top of page

The Oscars, 2014

The difference between Ray and me: I love the Oscars; he hates them. I find them inspiring; he finds them “snoozeville.”

He is waiting for us to watch True Detective, which I also love. Still, call me a sap, but I love the Oscars. I love seeing storytelling honored, along with all the people who bring those stories to life.

I also find heartfelt Oscar acceptance speeches truly touching. Which include those by Jared Leto and Lupita Nyong’o, for best supporting actor and actress.


jared-leto-ellie-goulding-esquire-summer-party-03

vogue_the-backstory-lupita-nyong-o

I am also very happy that Spike Jones won for best original screenplay for Her since this was a truly original concept.


Spike

I haven’t seen the best foreign film, The Great Beauty, but Ray has and he wants to take me to see it tomorrow night. I am happy about that.


Great Beauty

Best director, Alfonso Cuarón, for Gravity. I must say that he seems like a very sweet and genuine person.


alfonsostory

And I am delighted that Cate Blanchett won best actress.  Her performance in Blue Jasmine was superlative.


cate-blanchett-black-green-goddess-02 (1)

Go Matthew McConaughey!   Well deserved, especially coupled with Mudd.  I am happy.


mcconaughey30n-1-web

Twelve Years a Slave.  Excellent.  Hurray.


12yearscover-web

Ray is now happy the Oscars are over.  I am happy we saw every minute.

Now for True Detective.  If you haven’t been following this HBO series, then find it and watch.  It is outstanding.

0 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page