top of page

The Value of 20 Minutes a Day

On my blog at lenleatherwood.wordpress.com, my primary focus has been to write for a minimum of 20 minutes a day. I decided to start my blog when I knew (several months ago) that I would be presenting a 20 Minutes a Day workshop at the 2012 Story Circle Network Memoir Conference in Austin, Texas, and I wanted to speak with authenticity about that 20 Minute a day commitment. Flash fiction, memoir, poetry and essay have been the result of my efforts, some pieces better than others, but all done with the thought, “I can at least write for 20 minutes.” Some pieces have taken much longer and others have taken just exactly 20 minutes, depending on my availability and energy level. But what is most important is that I have followed through with my commitment to write daily with the exception of the time around a family death. Knowing that I didn’t have to go more than 20 minutes somehow freed me to write when I otherwise wouldn’t/couldn’t have written at all, and often for much longer than I would have imagined. So, pick a number of minutes to commit to in your writing – a reasonable number – and see what happens to your resistance. You might be surprised at the result, especially if you couple that writing with a blog, where people are expecting to see your pieces. Give it a try.

The 20 Minutes a Day concept lends itself to all kinds of writing. It’s entirely possible to get a story on the page in its entirety in 20 minutes, ready to be edited later. An essay, a nonfiction piece, or a poem can also fit into this time frame with remarkable facility, as well as a scene for a novel. With each, one can always go back afterwards to color in the details. The key is to commit to some time every day. The goal is to trick the Muse into forgoing excuses because usually it’s the sitting down and focusing – that first ten minutes – that’s the hardest part. At least for me – once I’ve gotten past that – I usually want to stay as long as I can.

Pamela Painter in her article, “You and the Piano Bench,” from the Rose Metal Press Flash Fiction Field Guild encourages writers to make use of writing exercises. As she states, “…writing exercises can be as important to a writer as exercises are to an aspiring musician or singer.” She goes on to say that “They [Exercises] help you to set in motion the shape of story, the “what if?” that might be applied to a particular set of circumstances or a line of dialogue, or even just a few words that can lock a story into place.” I have found this to be true for me and for my students. We often pick a prompt, set the timer, and write for 20 minutes. At first, it can be tough to get something on the page, but it’s not long before focus and fluidity develop. My students will attest to the power of those timed writing exercises. Some of their best stories – and mine – have come from them.

My challenge to you over this week is to get your timer out and commit to a certain number of minutes a day of writing. If 20 minutes seems too much, then make it less. Even five minutes of total concentration will start this process into motion. Send me your efforts. We can share. That’s half the fun of writing anyway. And dare to be imperfect. We are playing here, not writing the great American novel. Just set the timer, loosen up your shoulders, and start writing. We can all enjoy a little fun, after all.

Over this week, we will dive into “flash” fiction and nonfiction: what it is, ways to do it, and where to publish it. We will also hear from two well-known writers and editors, Tara Masih and Dinty W. Moore, as they share insights into the “flash” world and tell us more about The Rose Metal Field Guide to Flash Fiction and the upcoming The Rose Metal Field Guide to Flash Nonfiction. But first, just sit down and write something, anything. A quick story or poem or memory. Cut and paste it into the Comment section for others to see. Let it be an exercise in imperfection. That is yet another way to trick a disapproving Muse.

A few writing prompts:

Write for 20 minutes on the word frustration, merriment or ice cream. This might be a story, a poem, a memory, or an essay on this word. Or… Write for 20 minutes using the phrase, “I thought you told me…” as part of your piece.

Write fast and furious so you can outrun your censor. Ignore any annoying voices in your head that tell you that your writing isn’t good or this is stupid. Think of it as doing push-ups. You’re just building writing muscles. Share as soon as you’re done.

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page