top of page

This, That and The Other…

I am sitting with Jonah. We are sitting in my living room and it is 4:40 pm on a Tuesday afternoon. I have had students for the past 2 hours and I have another student after Jonah for at least 2 hours. So, a long day for me.

This morning, I took care of some chores around the house, then cooked homemade vegetable soup, cornbread and honey-sweetened spice cookies. I know that when my husband comes home, he’ll be hungry, plus my daughter, Liz, will arrive home from work hungry, as well. This is Liz’s last week to live with us because she is moving to Glendale with her boyfriend, Ron, to an apartment there. I’m happy she has her own place, but, of course, I’m going to miss her.

The weather is cool today and slightly overcast. The sun is just now breaking out from behind the clouds. People in Southern California get so used to the sun that they tend to be sensitive to gray days. It is not uncommon to hear people complaining only after one day of gray skies, “I can’t stand it when the sun is not out.” I think maybe our bodies here get so accustomed to the sun that we are more sensitive to the lack of it. But, then again, all those poor people who had a terrible winter this year seem to also complain when the days are gray. Still, a Southern Californian would probably be running back to the sun after only a few days if they were in one of those bad winter states. We just aren’t used to bad weather here. Spoiled is what some people might call it.

The building across the street is having major renovations done and they have an external elevator built to get the workers to the different floors. I believe there are 14 floors in all and a lot of work is being done on the roof. I think there’s a pool up there, which they are no doubt re-doing, so a whole group of workers goes up the elevator at the beginning of the day. Now they’re coming down and I can hear the elevator announcer calling out what floor they’re on. These workers arrived at 7:30 and leave around 4:30. So, they are all heading out now.

Our timer just sounded its alarm. We are done with our quick write for today. Let’s see what Jonah wrote about. He appears to still be writing…

The Building Across the Street


Doheny-Tower
0 views0 comments

Kommentare


bottom of page