top of page

Three 21-Year-Olds on a Road Trip

Roadtrip

Our daughter Rachael and her two friends, Natasha and Keara, decided last week to take a road trip from Los Angeles to our home in Sherman, Texas, which is 60 miles north of Dallas. They arrived today after 22 hours of driving spread over 2 1/2 days. The girls, all college seniors, arrived tired, but in good spirits and clearly had enjoyed the first major leg of their road trip. The second leg – their return to LA – will commence early Saturday morning since two of the three have classes on Monday. That’s quite a trek for such a short time period, but what the heck? Nothing like a change of scenery and a little adventure to perk up your life.

I must admit I experienced a bit of trepidation at the thought of these three beautiful girls embarking on this journey. All manner of possible problems popped up in my mind: car trouble, scary people, accidents on the highways. But then I reminded myself that when I was just their age I often made the trek from Sherman to Salt Lake City where I was attending the University of Utah, and this was before cell phones. Plus, I am a true lover of road trips myself, so I understand why someone would want to jump in the car and just head out. There’s something so liberating about being between places – no responsibility – and out of routine – no expectations. Plus, being out west where there are such wide open spaces just helps you to breathe better.

So, the girls are here and tomorrow I’m going to take them on a tour of Sherman and its surrounds. (This might be all of 30 minutes.) We might venture out to see Lake Texoma and even consider going across the Red River into Oklahoma just for the fun of it. Then the girls will head to Dallas to visit a friend before leaving early the next morning to slowly make their way back to the West Coast.

Joy is taking time in life to do something just for the pure fun of it and that’s what these girls are doing. I say good for them. You can’t stretch your wings without taking a few risks and so off they will head and trust that the weather, the roads and their fellow travelers will work all in their favor. Ray and I make this trek all the time and so far, so good. Besides, it makes you feel better about humanity when you’re out among people you don’t know and see the unexpected acts of kindness that abound.

I am happy the girls are here. What a treat. They are full of youthful enthusiasm, which is contagious.  We will make this same trek back to California in a week ourselves.  Like I say, there’s nothing like a road trip to help you remember that feeling young is not about age at all, but rather about being willing to try something new.  After all, we’re all 21 in spirit…aren’t we?

Have you had some memorable road trips? If so, please share in the Comments Section. As always, I love to hear from you.

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page