top of page

“Tis a Gift to Be Simple”

This was an organizational day, where I tackled projects that required attention to detail. I love these kinds of days because I not only get loose ends tied up, but I also feel a certain level of calmness as I methodically deal with paying bills or editing work or creating lesson plans for online classes. I did all of that today, plus also reorganized my check recorder – exciting stuff, I know – but somehow getting everything set up and in place helped me to feel as my life was getting back on track. What with all the babies, weddings, graduations, trips to Texas and moving of two of our three children, there hasn’t been just an awful lot of attention paid to the details in our lives over the past while. So, today was a shift away from hubbub and, hopefully, an indicator of how the upcoming weeks and months will be. Not that we’re staying put for any length of time. We will be returning to Texas in just a week or so. But that trip will simply be an extension of our organizational plan, allowing us to shift our focus to furniture and houses rather than teaching and finances. This appears to be the summer of getting out sh** together. For better or worse.

I am going to bed tonight feeling more relaxed than I have in a while. It’s funny how attending to small details can make you feel as if your whole life is going better. Ironic since your bigger life may not even be that affected by that edited material or completed lesson plans. Still, I feel satisfied attending to tasks that simply need to be done. Taking one small, but definitive step forward to address issues that need addressing. There is something concretely rewarding about that kind of work, and I am feeling those rewards this evening. I can go to bed feeling content.

I hope you had an equally satisfying day or will have one tomorrow.

In the meantime, I’m going to give myself the gift of a warm bath followed by a welcome bed. May simple pleasures abound!

On that note, let me bide you good night.

Until tomorrow.


scan0009
1 view0 comments

Komentáře


bottom of page