top of page

To Ray on His Birthday

Thank you, Ray, for teaching me a few things about life over these past 30+ years. You have opened my eyes to art, architecture, antiques and design; the whole realm of the visual. You have also pushed me to express my feelings. I count chasing you around the back yard with a crowbar early in our marriage as one of the most liberating moments in my life, not that I planned to bludgeon you to death (I just wanted to get your attention), but because at that moment I connected with feelings that I had previously pushed so far down I wasn’t sure I would/could ever access them. Thank you, husband, for that gift since now (for better or worse) I express my emotions with heartfelt enthusiasm. You are also the best father I know, which, of course, is quite endearing, along with being smart, funny, and handsome. In addition, I love your balanced approach to life, which blends the wisdom of living wholly in the present with a forward-thinking eye to the future and a philosophical view of the past. Moreover, your spirit of adventure makes life just plain fun. And, no, I don’t say all of that to just anyone…

Happy birthday, honey. I am a better person because you are here.


2656_145723580183_3203658_n
1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page