top of page

Today – A Detail Day

Today, I have been attending to details in my life that usually fall through the cracks. For example, I looked up my insurance benefits to see if I am covered for a new pair of glasses. (I am). I also made a doctor’s appointment for a physical and blood work (first opening April 20th. That’s fine, I’m not sick). I checked to see why I don’t seem to have a policy number for dental insurance that is part of my Kaiser Advantage Plus insurance program. (Still don’t have that answer, but will tomorrow after I call and ask) and I ordered two free “In-Home Health Kits” (one of yoga and the other on walking) that come with that same Advantage Plus program.

I also read and commented on the Story Circle Board report, emailed several people at SCN about various concerns or good things, and then sat down with Ray and decided on our travel plans from now through June. (As self-employed people juggling several small businesses, we have to do this planning on a routine basis.) I also filled out the dates I am unavailable to serve as an acolyte at St. Thomas the Apostle over the next two months (part of the motivation to clarify our travel plans) and also booked flights to Texas so that we can take advantage of any flight discounts. I also talked to Liz about her conversation with the Spectrum guy about getting internet at the orange grove, contacted several fellow acolytes to see if any can substitute for me in the upcoming weeks since I’m going to be out of town, and communicated with members of my online class about their submissions.

These were just a few of the items on the list I made this morning of details that often get pushed to late night hours or, perhaps more accurately, to the next day.

I felt very pleased I had the chance to actually make sure these happened in a timely fashion.

Oh, and I called the people who tell me how to make sure our orange grove gets the necessary spraying for a particular type of bug so we can officially sell our fruit. Yes, that’s a good one to have tackled.

Somewhere in there, I also read a few of Walt Whitman’s poems from Leaves of Grass and took the Kiersey Temperament Sorter to see if my personality type has changed over the years (no, I am still either an E or I NFP (depending on how extroverted I am feeling when I answer the questions). I read the personality profile again and learned that while I do inspire others around me, I often have a little problem making sure that details get done in the multiple projects that I start to make life interesting. (I like to blame that on Ray, but must admit, we have the same personality profile (believe it or not) and we are both apparently “fiercely independent, and much more than stability and security, crave creativity and freedom.” Hence the problem with all those darned items on my long list.

However, today was a detail day and I am feeling proud.

On that note, I’ll say good night. I still have a phone call to make to try to find a replacement for my acolyte duties on Ash Wednesday.

We’ll be talking again tomorrow.

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page