top of page

Two Comfort Foods

I went to Trader Joe’s today to stock up on various foodstuffs. As I sat problem-solving what to write about tonight on my blog, it occurred to me to throw in a plug for two Trader Joe’s products that I think are especially good. Clearly, TJ’s has many other products that are great, but these two add a bit of happiness to my life every day.  Here they are:

Trader Joe’s Dark Chocolate Honey Mints: Just Three Ingredients.

These mints taste a lot like a peppermint patty but consist solely of honey, chocolate liquor, and oil of peppermint. No sugar or preservatives at all. My students, all of whom are sugar eaters, would tell you that these are adequately sweet without any oppressive honey taste. I highly recommend these for chocolate lovers who want a touch of a treat without a jillion calories. There are 140 calories for 3 and I guarantee they will satisfy your sweet tooth quite well.


mInts

Trader Joe’s Spiced Chai Tea

This is my current go-to hot beverage with added milk (I use non-fat dried milk) and Stevia for sweetener (honey is also great in this). This will warm you up and wake you up, as well. It’s a treat because of all the flavors, but also it’s a great comfort drink that will add a little pleasure to your day.  It contains black tea, cinnamon, ginger, cloves, cardamom, Chinese star anise, black pepper, nutmeg, roasted chicory, natural flavor and vanilla bean.


Chai

Let me know if you give either of these a try.  I’d love to hear what you think.  And your comfort foods, what are they?

0 views0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page