top of page

Two Homes, Two States

I am sitting at my kitchen table in North Central Texas tonight writing this blog. The big cabinet in the photo is what I am looking at right now. It feels almost like time travel that I can be chatting with my daughter in our kitchen in LA mid-morning today and be writing my blog 1500 miles away in an entirely different kitchen this evening. The fact that this house is an 1894 Victorian adds even more to the notion of climbing into a time machine.

Ray and I walked in this evening and again, for the thousandth time, both shrugged and said, “Wow, what a great house.” We also agreed (again) that there is something very odd/weird/strange that we have this whole other reality of our lives. Part of the time we live on a busy street between Sunset and Santa Monica Boulevards with West Hollywood on one side and Beverly Hills on the other, and part of the time we live on a very quiet street four blocks from the square in Sherman, Texas.  And yet, both places represent very much who and how we are and are unifying rather than polarizing.  Go figure.

So, on that note, I’ll say good night. Regardless of where I am, I always yearn for a little tv before taking a bath and going to bed.  I just wish the dogs were here to keep us company. We’ll have to bring them when we return in the summer via car.

I’ll be checking back in with you again tomorrow.

Until then, have a good night.

Kitchen
1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page