top of page

Unexpected Freedom = Heaven

Ray, Liz and I are supposed to be at Barnsdall Art Center tonight for the beginning of our new classes. Ray is taking pottery and Liz and I will be exploring painting with acrylics. However, none of us is there. Liz is leaving early in the morning for a conference in Cleveland and sounded instantly relieved when I suggested that we start next week. Ray and I have been so busy over the past couple of weeks that even though we have paid for these classes and want to go, we are still pinching ourselves that we aren’t in Hollywood at this very hour.

Since that decision, Ray and I have been running around the house like kids who just found out they have a snow day. About every ten minutes Ray walks through the room and says, “I’m so glad we’re not going tonight.” All I can do is nod. There’s nothing like having unexpected freedom from a plan (even one you know you’ll enjoy.) Getting that reprieve (especially when you’ve planned all day to go) is one of the joys of life.

So tonight I have been catching up on some work that has been nagging at me. I am still not completely done, but am a lot closer. The best part is that I have not had to rush. I’ve just been sitting here in my big chair feeling remarkably relaxed. Oh, happy day!

Next week, we’ll be more refreshed and prepared. We might actually arrive with the required art supplies versus tonight when we were going in empty-handed.

I believe Ray and I might also go to bed at an earlier hour than usual. I have heard tell that you can actually catch up on sleep if you go to bed 8 hours before you have to wake up. Is that possible? Tonight might be the night to see!

I hope you’re having a restful night, dear readers.

I am ready to head up to that promised bed.

I’ll be checking back in with you tomorrow.

kids picture
1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page