top of page

Vigil Mass at St. Thomas the Apostle, Hollywood

I have just returned from the Easter Vigil mass at St. Thomas the Apostle Episcopal church in Hollywood. I was the crucifer, meaning that I carried the cross in the procession and recession and rang the bells before Communion. Tonight, Bishop Mary Glasspool was with us to perform baptisms and confirmations, which is a special treat. St. Thomas is only one of many churches in the Los Angeles Diocese, but we have had a bishop for many years now at our Easter Vigil. This may be because we are the most Anglo-Catholic church in the Diocese, which I believe is true. When you want all the bells and smells of a “high” Episcopal mass in LA, then St. Thomas the Apostle is the place to come.

As one of the acolytes I am due to return to church tomorrow to serve at the 10:30 mass. That is when my family will be coming. They don’t go to the Easter Vigil since it is very long. So, instead, they will get dressed up and join me for the big mass tomorrow morning. I have long since learned that my children are only willing to come to church with me for major holidays. The rest of the year, they play their attendance by ear. That is fine with me. They are grown-ups. I am just happy they’ll join me at Christmas and Easter.

If we’re lucky our little granddaughter will be arriving soon.  Who knows?  She may decide tomorrow is the day.  That would be the best Easter present ever.  I’m sure her mother and father would think so, too!

So, on that note, I’ll head to bed in eager anticipation…


Randy
0 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page