top of page

Welcome Home for Ray: Honey-Sweetened Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Ray is flying in from Texas tonight after a 5 day trip. I know that he appreciates something sweet, so I baked up some homemade oatmeal raisin cookies for him. We don’t eat refined sugar so these are sweetened with honey and agave. I think he will appreciate my efforts.

Below is a 4-Star recipe from Food Network’s Ellie Krieger. I changed a few things and added more sweetener. (Just because we don’t eat refined sugar doesn’t mean we don’t have a sweet tooth around here.) I included the original recipe for those of you who want to replicate it without my variations. However, I must admit my cookies turned out very well.

Here you go for your baking and eating pleasure:

Ingredients:

Cooking spray 2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted 1/4 cup canola oil (I used coconut oil) 1/2 cup honey (I added 1/4 cup organic agave syrup) 1 large egg 1/4 cup smooth unsalted almond butter (I used Laura Scudder’s peanut butter because I didn’t have any almond butter) 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract 1/4 cup nonfat dry milk 1 cup whole-wheat pastry flour (or 1/2 cup each all-purpose and whole-wheat flour) 1/2 teaspoon baking soda 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon 1/4 teaspoon salt 1 3/4 cups rolled oats 1/2 cup raisins

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Mist 2 baking sheets with cooking spray. Beat the butter, canola oil, honey, egg, almond (or peanut) butter and vanilla extract in a large bowl with a mixer until combined.

In another bowl, whisk the dry milk, flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt. Add the flour mixture to the butter mixture and stir to combine. Stir in the oats and raisins.

Scoop tablespoonfuls of batter about 2 inches apart onto the prepared baking sheets. Bake until golden, about 12 minutes. Let the cookies cool 2 minutes on the baking sheets, then transfer to a rack to cool completely. Store in a loosely covered container for up to 3 days.

Per cookie: Calories 100; Fat 5 g (Saturated 1 g); Cholesterol 10 mg; Sodium 45 mg; Carbohydrate 13 g; Fiber 1 g; Protein 2 g

Courtesy of Food Network Magazine

Here are my cookies


cookies
1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page