top of page

Babysitting BIG Dogs: A Small Miracle

I was bitten by a big dog when I was 24 when I visited a friend who wanted to show me his great dane’s pups.  Mama Dane apparently had been mistreated at sometime in her life by someone who looked like me and the minute she saw me, she flew over a coffee table and hit me full force in the face with an open mouth.  Lucky for me, I was wearing glasses or otherwise I would have lost an eye.  As it was, she spilt my  bottom lip wide and deep and I wear that scar today as a reminder not to mess with a mother with young to protect. 

image
image

I also developed a fear bordering on phobia of big dogs.   

Fast forward a few years.

My brother Jim asked us to take his schnauzer when he died and Winnie became the salve for my neurotic canine fears.  A more loving dog never lived, and it wasn’t so very long until I could at least not bolt when a big dog appeared on our walks.Then I met a rottweiler who scared me for a moment then scooted right into my heart.  She had her own neurosis and maybe she understood my shyness.  She and I were friends for a long time until illness took her and tonight I am dogsitting her little sister and a big mutt named Louie. 

On the miracle scale, this is a small one, but is remains a miracle, nonetheless.  I can now play with big dogs and actually love them.  And sweet Cordelia helps remind me on a daily basis just how critical dogs are to my happiness.

image

I will never forget that day that great dane went for me, and thank God the damage was not worse.  I keep a healthy respect for dogs I do not know.  But, I know through enough love some traumas can be healed.  My life is richer as a result.

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page