top of page

Healing Through Storytelling

Tonight I read my online students’ Week Two flash stories/memoirs and I literally was sitting at my computer crying. The class is tiny – three woman – a perfect size, really, for a class. They are sharing such deeply personal and painful stories with such grace and beauty, I might have to go upstairs and have one of those “good cries,” as my mother used to call those times when sobbing for a few minutes clears out all the accumulated pain. I am happy to have those stories (and these women) suddenly in my life. I will grow from this class, I can already see. These are women who are past the superficial chatter of youth. They go right to the heart of their experiences and look for ways to move beyond their pain.

I like that about the Story Circle Network classes I teach. Story Circle Network is a community of women who are dedicated to telling their stories. These women (ranging from brand-new writers to professional wordsmiths) are serious about exorcising their demons, and moving on with life. Their stories are not so different from my stories and their healing aids my healing. Such is the power of the written word. Not to say all the writing is serious. I have laughed aloud at many a story I’ve read of my students. It just happens that tonight the stories fall a little close to home and touch some sadness I carry.

Yes, a good cry is in order. I can almost see my mother standing by the stairs, pointing up. “Go,” she would say. “Everybody can use a good cry now and then.”

I expect that’s true.

No, I actually know that’s true.

Okay, off I go.

Here is the website for Story Circle Network if you want more information. It is definitely a fine group of women. The web address is http://www.storycircle.org.


tshirt_backs
0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page